Transformers are hot again! Netflix will debut Transformers: War for Cybertron- Earthrise on December 30. This is the second season, the first season debuted in July 30, 2020. The trailer is available on youtube. In this season, the Autobots clash with the Mercenaries with Megatron looming .
This cartoon is hot but I am still waiting for the next live-action Transformers movie. Bumblebee: The Movie was the last live-action Transformers movie.
Bumblebee: The Movie was available on DVD on Tuesday April 2,2019 This movie came out on Friday, December 21, 2018. The movie grossed over $127 million domestically and made over $335 million in other countries for a total of over $462 million. Let’s find out how that movie affect the value of Bumblebee in comic books. Before we do that, let’s review.
Bumblebee: The Movie came out on December 21, 2018 by Paramount Pictures. This film is based in 1987, 20 years before the 2007 movie Transformers. It  have less robots than the previous movies. Michael Bay did not directed this movie, like the other five Transformers movies. He was a producer.
This movie did great at the box office. Now according to Paramount, a sequel is in development.
This Bumblebee: The Movie film stars Hailee Steinfield as a teenage girl who discovers Bumblebee. John Cena is an agent of Sector 7. Peter Cullen is the voice of Optimus Prime,  just like those other 5 movies
Bumblebee first appeared in Transformers #1 (September 1984).  Unfortunately, Bumblebee is not on the cover. Plot is by Bill Mantlo, script by Ralph Macchio and drawn by Frank Springer.  There are a lot of other first appearances of Autobots like Optimus Prime, Jazz and Hound. There are as well a lot of 1st appearances of Decepticons like Megatron, Soundwave and Starscream.
My first comic book was Transformers #10 with Devastator on the cover. I was at a drug store when I saw that comic book on a spinning rack. I said to myself, I just have to buy it. Back then the cover price was 75 cents and there was no sales tax on comic book where I live.
I looked at the advertisements inside the comic book to buy the back issues for issues 1 to 9. I still have these comic books after all these years. I tried to relive my childhood by making a Transformers video. Check it out and let me know what you think.
An auctioned copy of Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 sold for $320.00 on July 15 2018. A  copy of Transformers #1 CGC 9.8 sold for $425.00 on September 9. 2  copies of Transformers #1 CGC 9.8 sold for $356 and $349.99 on December 2.  A copy of Transformers #1 CGC 9.8 sold for $426.00 on January 1, 2019.
One Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 sold for $596.05 on March 24, 2019 and another Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 sold for $616 on March 27, 2019.
One Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 sold for $550 on November 12 and another Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 sold for $600 on November 13.
We are in December 2020 with the covid affecting everyone, this book almost double from last year because there was sale of Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 for $1350 on December 6, and another sale of  Transformers # 1 CGC 9.8 on December 2.
Most comic books go down in value once the hype is over but this is a rare exception!

About The Author